Civil PE Exam - Practical or Academic?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skc005

Reaction score
Hello, first time poster here. A little about my background, I am a recent grad with a BS in Structures and have been working in Transportation in the last 2 years. I have been anxious to take the PE Exam as soon as I could; previously I was waiting to gain the requisite experience before I could apply/sign up (California). However, with the recent changes in CA now allowing you to take the 8 hour, this falls in line with my intention to take the exam ASAP and now without having to worry about my experience.

Now about my "experience"; I have been working on exclusively a big project here in CA for a great firm. The issue is, my firm's role on the project isn't in design but rather in Project Management. Consequently, in the last 2 years I haven't really gained any technical background that makes me feel confident to be qualified as an engineer. That's why I was weary over the last few years wondering when I could "qualify" to take the exam. However, now that I am able to immediately take the 8 hour, I have began acquiring materials, reviewing the CERM, etc to take the test as soon as April.