Civil PE Registration

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hamno

Reaction score
Hello Everyone, I am new here, as matter of fact I am new in US too, I am Civil Engineer, I have about 13-year experience in civil engineering, I called Texas Board for registration for PE exam, and they told me I have to have FE and after three years and recommendation from 3 PE engineers, I will be able to take the exam.

I passed the FE exam a few weeks ago.

Now I want to take the PE exam, but the problem is that, I don't have three-year experience here in US, and I don't know any PE engineers.

Any recommendations? I will appreciate any guidance.

Thanks in advance

Hamno

Not what you want to hear but I'd recommend you obtain the experience.  Passing the exam is only one element of becoming a PE.  Experience is also an integral part of being qualified to be licensed.  Good luck. 

Are you employed as a Civil in the US right now?

In most states, you're going to have to have worked with a licensed PE in order to be able to sit for the exam as well.  You might want to look into which states do not have that requirement and see if you can take their exam.  Likewise, there are a few states that do not have the experience requirement.  It is possible to take the exam to be licensed in a state where you do not live and work.

Not what you want to hear but I'd recommend you obtain the experience.  Passing the exam is only one element of becoming a PE.  Experience is also an integral part of being qualified to be licensed.  Good luck. 

Are you employed as a Civil in the US right now?