NCEES record/license based on comity

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WolfHead

Owner/CEO/Consultant
Reaction score
I've started working on my NCEES record and got stuck at the 'References' section. The record requires 5 PEs as references. I chatted with an NCEES rep and looks like there will be no exception provided. Even if you get by this hurdle; you have to add a new reference every year - again a PE. I am a Telecommunications Engineer and PEs are simply unheard of in my field. Anyone facing a similar problem? Maybe I need to network on these boards and work with some of the PEs here in order to finish my record in the future! Do you guys know if individual states have less of a 'PE based' character reference requirements?

I've used an original reference as a renewal reference without an issue.

any friends/clients who are PEs that you can use?

I've started working on my NCEES record and got stuck at the 'References' section. The record requires 5 PEs as references. I chatted with an NCEES rep and looks like there will be no exception provided. Even if you get by this hurdle; you have to add a new reference every year - again a PE. I am a Telecommunications Engineer and PEs are simply unheard of in my field. Anyone facing a similar problem? Maybe I need to network on these boards and work with some of the PEs here in order to finish my record in the future! Do you guys know if individual states have less of a 'PE based' character reference requirements?
The (5) initial references can be tough to acquire.  Any chance at getting any references from any clients/customers that you worked directly with on certain projects?  Otherwise, becoming a member of NSPE would certainly be another viable way to network and get some potential references.  What about any previous employers?