Cleared PE Environmental Oct 2015-Tips and recommendations for future candidates

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RSS

Reaction score
PE Environmental -Tips and recommendations for future candidates

Hello All

I have been following this forum for a while where some good discussions have been posted. I decided that it’s time to provide my comprehensive review of the PE Environmental exam and best ways to maximize the possibility of passing the exam in your first attempt. My discussion will have both qualitative and quantitative items on several topics covered in the PE exam.

Background

To give you a background, I have a graduate degree in environmental engineering and bachelors in chemical engineering with a strong background in chemistry I have been working in the “site assessment and remediation (SAR)” field for the past 8 years focusing mainly on Insitu technologies used for contaminated site remediation.

Given this background provides a certain advantage of performing well since the environmental exam does involve lot of chemistry. However, the catch is that the chemistry being used in the actual exam is not advanced. What you actually need is a freshmen/sophomore understanding of basic principles and for anyone who has not seen chemistry since high school could still get up to speed if you spend some additional time reviewing basics.

The disadvantage for me is that only 12% of the actual PE exam is focused on SAR. If you look into the NCEES guidance document, the main players are as follows

Ø  32 % is water (potable, wastewater, storm water and groundwater)

Ø  Air is 23% and solid waste is 18% (both municipal and hazardous) totaling to about 41%

Ø  SAR is about 12%

Ø  The other sections are environmental health and safety (EHS) *8%) and associated engineering principles (AEP) (7%)