Let's beat this thing like Engineers...

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pmg902

Reaction score
Hey everybody, this is my first time participating on EB, although I've been sponging tips off here for the last few months. I just finished my seismic exam, completing the trifecta. Ill admit that I'm more than just a little nervous about the outcome (a betting man would not take me as a favorite to have my license before 2016 :-/

My goal here is to initiate a collaborative and constructive dialogue on how to Oceans 11 these pains in the rear end. Speaking for myself personally, I don't find the actual content of the Seis/Survey tests particularly challenging (if you practice the problems and/or have some pre-existing experience from school you can probably finagle your way through). I think that we must address the elephant in the room.

THESE EXAMS AREN'T MEANT TO STUMP YOU. THEY'RE MEANT TO DISTRACT YOU LONG ENOUGH SO THE CLOCK RUNS OUT.

This isn't a new concept, I've heard several people express concern over the time/problem (2 min 45 seconds, as opposed to the 6 minutes for the NCEES). Speaking from my own experience these are the most demanding exams I've ever had to take in my life (demanding, not challenging).

Over the weekend, while licking my wounds after taking the survey test Friday I came up with an idea on how one could effectively approach the Seis/Survey. I came up with a strategy around 5 am this morning which I put into effect on my seismic exam 6 hours later. I didn't get up and leave half an hour early, but I think I was successful in "not leaving any money on the table". Here was my strategy (which applies to both survey and seismic).

From t=0 to t=10 min