Thinking about going back to school for engineering...any advice?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SwagenGTI

Reaction score
Hi everyone, so I am thinking about going back to school for engineering, but I guess I will give you guys some background info.

I graduated almost a year ago (last December) with my bachelors in Biology originally planning on going to medical school, but things changed. I was still looking to get into medicine but a different route and I have finally realized...medicine is not for me...I am not compassionate enough to make a good doctor (or whatever) and I am finally accepting the fact that I only wanted to go into medicine for the money, which is no good and even if I did end up in medicine, I guarantee that I would hate it and that would not be fair to my self, or any patients that I would be working on.

So anyways, I am currently working in a DNA/paternity/forensic lab. The people there are nice, the job isnt bad but it is super monotonous and I dont think I can work in labs doing the same crap all day, everyday, for the rest of my life. I have considered graduate school in biological fields other than medicine but as interesting as they would be, they dont seem to pay enough to justify the extra schooling. I am really considering going back to school for another bachelors in engineering...what I should have done in the first place since I have always been tinkering with things, and building/designing stuff