Electrical PE Exam: Power or Electronics?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lac41

Reaction score
I am signing up for the Electrical PE exam and I'm not sure what exam is the best fit for me so I'm hoping you guys can throw me some suggestions.

I graduated from college in '08 with a BS in EE and a pretty heavy concentration on Electronics. However, I've been working for consulting firms since I graduated and that work really isn't really geared toward electronics. But it's not heavy in Power concepts either. Most of my day to day work is along the lines of panel and feeder sizing which falls quite a bit shy of the complexity of motor and transmission line theory. Every now and then some basic controls work will come my way, but I'm certainly not a seasoned controls engineer.

So, I'm not sure what test will be the best fit for me, or which test I'll have the best shot at passing: Power or Electrical and Electroncs. I'll be taking a review class and studying my butt off either way, but I'd naturally like to make this as painless as possible... At this point I'm leaning toward the Elec and Electronics version.

Do you have any input?

I took Electrical computer engineering and it was as easy as pi. the test was just like reading data sheets and decoding digital electronic logic. There were a few software engineering questions, but all are based on the method of doing it, which a few hours of reading fully covered (they never taught us that in school). Power scared me off because I never learned power distribution and can't find anything in the NEC. I don't remember how to do a single non-linear electronic component calculation.

The one op-amp question on my exam required no calculations. if you could identify the type of filter it was, you basically got the answer.