Are you salary or hourly?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guitarjamman

Reaction score
If you are salary, how well to you keep track of billable time to jobs?

Do you bill 8 hours for the day, or do you wittle it down to minute tasks?

both i guess. Salary but we only work 37.5hrs a week, anymore more is comp or overtime. We have to track the 7.5 each day to min 15 intervals.

Salary, but I'm government so I don't have billable hours to track.

Back when I worked as a consultant, I would tend to round to the nearest hour. If I was working on one project all day, but had to field a phone call or a couple emails on another, I would typically just bill my time to the all-day project. If the phone calls & emails approached an hour's worth of time, I would bill for it.

So when you bill your time at the end of the day (or week depending on how it works), do you have unaccounted hours that you put in, or omit them and consider them a gift to the boss? For example, I came in this morning at 7:45 and I will leave at 5, but I will only bill 8 hours in the time-management software. Billing portions down to 15-minutes if needed for specific jobs.

Excluding lunch, I need to take breaks every now and then. I find it impossible to work 8 hours straight, I will take a 5 minute "surf the internet" break or go walk around and see what is going on with other people a few times throughout the day. These breaks can add up throughout the week and I make it up by staying longer than 8 hours (within reason). Again, I know I am not the only who runs this way - still new to the working world (2.5 years) and trying to make sure I am not being unreasonable here.