Jump to content
Engineer Boards

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'review'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Welcome
    • Introduce Yourself
    • Advertising on engineerboards
  • Vendor Forums
    • EB.COM vendor list
    • Vendor Display
    • Vendor Giveaways / eb.com Deals
  • Exam Discussion
    • Anything about the PE Exam
    • PE Exam Results
    • LEED, PTOE, PMP
    • The FE Exam
    • Anything about the RLS Exam
  • PE Exam Prep Forum
    • Civil Engineering PE Exam
    • Mechanical
    • Electrical
    • Environmental Exam
    • Structural
    • Chemical Exam
    • Fire Protection Exam
    • Materials and Metallurgical Engineering
  • Technical Discussions
    • EB.COM Salary Surveys
    • General Engineering
    • Civil Engineering
    • Electrical
    • Mechanical
    • Public Agency Employees
  • General Discussion
    • Shoot the Breeze
  • Swap Shop
    • Job Postings
    • Yard Sale
    • Continuing Education

Calendars

Categories

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Categories

  • For Sale - Test Prep
  • Free Items - Test Prep Material

Found 33 results

  1. Take advantage of our $200 dollar early registration discount for our Live Online PE Control Systems Exam Course today! Register here.
  2. Multiple Course Discounts

    Use the promo codes during check out! click image to visit www.passpe.com
  3. Seismic Review Course starting Saturday

    Our seismic review course start this Saturday and then move to Tuesday evenings after. www.passpe.com for more information. Late registration accepted. Discounts for multiple course enrollment. Click the image to go to the registration page. Brief Description of Seismic Review course: This Seismic review course will prepare the participants for the special seismic exam for California Civil PE. The course will explain the seismic design of buildings and structures as required by the California Building Code 2016-Part 2, Vol. 2 which is based on 2015 IBC and ASCE 7-10, and SDPWS 2015. Building codes (IBC2015, 2016 CBC), and organizations Reference Codes ( ASCE 7, ACI 318, AISC 360, SDPWS 2015) Seismic legislation and the Professional Engineers Act Loads, load combinations, design philosophies (ASD, SD/LRFD), structural analysis and stresses (flexure/bending, shear, torsion, bearing) Nature, characteristics, and classification of earthquakes Design for lateral forces (wind vs. seismic) Vibration theory, response of structures to vibration, stiffness, and rigidity Seismic data and seismic design criteria Seismic forces (V, E, Eh, Ev, Fp) Seismic analysis procedures IBC 2015/ 2016 CBC, and ASCE 7-10 Codes seismic requirements for building structures IBC 2015/ 2016 CBC, and ASCE 7-10 Codes seismic requirements for non-structural components IBC 2015/ 2016 CBC, and ASCE 7-10 Codes seismic requirements for non-building structures Diaphragm theory Horizontal diaphragms and shear walls Seismic requirements for foundations and retaining walls Details of seismic requirements for concrete, wood, steel, and masonry structures Tilt-up construction Damage and retrofit of existing structures Seismic detailing, inspection, structural tests, and quality control
  4. Civil Breadth Classes start soon

    Our Civil Breadth Review and Workshop will be starting this weekend. With this you get access to On-Demand videos to start studying as soon as possible. There are Free Office Hours as well to cover questions you may have, see schedule below. With this course you will get 3 Books. Civil Breadth Reference Manual, by Dr. Mansour. Civil Breadth Practice Problems and Solutions, By Dr. Mansour. Your choice of a NCEES Practice Exam (Transportation, Construction, Water Resources & Environmental, Geotechnical, Structural). Visit www.passpe.com for more information. DISCOUNTS for multiple class enrollment! 5% and 10% discount for multiple courses. For 2 review courses use code Passpe02 at checkout. For 3 or more review courses use code Passpe03 at checkout. (click image to be taken to registration page) Office Hours Schedule
  5. Only 2 and half weeks until classes start!

    Review Courses Start Soon! Huge 20th anniversary savings! Prices of materials and courses marked down to celebrate! Classes start this July to help prepare for the upcoming October Exams. Civil Breadth + Workshop: Starts July 8th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM Construction: Starts July 8th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM Transportation: Starts July 9th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM Seismic: Starts July 15th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM Surveying: Starts July 16th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM www.passpe.com for more information on registration and to view our on-demand selection.
  6. THIS ADVERT HAS EXPIRED!

    • FOR SALE
    • USED

    Selling the following review materials that helped me pass the Electrical Power PE Exam: 1) NCEES Electrical Power Practice Exam (NEW, UNUSED) - $25 2) Complex Imaginary Vol 1-4 (Used, very few marks - I solved the problems on a separate notebook. Great exercise tool to help you solve problems and get familiar with the basics) - $115 3) Graffeo's "...Guide to passing the power PE..." (Used, very little marks, same reason above. Excellent reference with a practice exam in the same format as NCEES) - $80 4) Theodore Wildi Book (Like new. Soft bound. Great book, covers lots of theory. Helped me solve at least 2 questions during the exam) - $130 I prefer to sell ALL as a package for $350, but you may buy separately. Prices negotiable, just contact me. Thanks!!

    $130.00

  7. Classes Start Soon

    Review Courses Start Soon Classes start this July to help prepare for the upcoming October Exams. Seismic: Starts July 15th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM Surveying: Starts July 16th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM Civil Breadth + Workshop: Starts July 8th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM Construction: Starts July 8th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM Transportation: Starts July 9th, 2017 at 9 AM – 5:30 PM www.passpe.com for more information on registration and to view our on-demand selection. 2 for 1 and FREE Office Hours.pdf
  8. Our FE Industrial and Systems exam refresher course covers a majority of the topics on the FE Industrial and Systems exam and includes practice using the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. FE Industrial and Systems Course Structure Our 72-hour review course is divided into two parts: Refresher Classes - Approximately 60% of the review course is dedicated to preparing students for the topics that are critical for the FE Exam. This section will allow students to experience some theory and high-probability problems. Workshop Sessions -Approximately 40% of the review course is dedicated to workshop sessions. These sessions motivate students to practice and solve several problems that require numerical solutions. The workshop sessions are exclusively for solving problems that are critical for the FE Exam. Sign up today!
  9. I am looking to take the PE (Power) Exam in October and am looking for online review course recommendations. I'm leaning toward doing a live online course since it would most effectively get me into a routine since I would want to be in attendance at a set time each week. But I know one drawback of this is you cannot skip through material if you know it won't be very useful to you (ex: instructor answers a question on a topic you already have mastered). So, I don't necessarily have to do live online. Also, I don't plan to fail the exam, but having a guarantee would be nice. I've already looked at the following: Test Masters School of PE PPI GA Tech The Test Masters and School of PE seem too condensed for the live online courses. One month just seems too short. The GA Tech course is cheaper than the others and seems like a lot of people have used it and like it, but how many hours of lectures is it? I didn't see that on the course site. The PPI live online course spans a little over two months which seems good, and comes with more materials than the others, but I'm not sure of the quality of the course itself. I took the PPI FE course and wasn't too impressed with it, but admittedly it was during the revamping of the FE exams themselves to the more discipline specific ones (still, I think it could have been much better), so I'm not sure what their typical courses are like under normal conditions. Which review course do you like and why? What are your experiences with Live Online vs watching lectures on demand? How much value did you get out of the course you took? Any other suggestions you would have for me and what I'm looking for? Thanks
  10. Hi. Planning to take my first PE exam for Mechanical in April. How do I know which review course is the best? Are there any in-person courses in Tacoma or Olympia, WA? What course did you like or should I stay away from? What do you think of this one: http://pereviewcourse.com/mechanical-pe-review/ ?
  11. The start date for the next PE (Civil) Review Course (February - April 2017) is February 7, 2017. 1. You are welcome to use either Goswami’s All In One 3rd edition (2015) or Lindeberg’s CERM as your primary reference. 2. The first 10 lectures (out of 21) of the course will be devoted to AM (breadth) topics, and the following 10 lectures will be devoted to the 5 depth areas. Emphasis will be on problem solving in all the sessions. Approximately 20 problems will be discussed in a typical 3-hour session. 3. Lecture 21 will serve as a capstone review session where ‘last minute’ questions from all 5 subject areas will be discussed. This session will also allow us to address queries about the end-of-course practice exam which will be sent out a week before this session. This has the potential to become a student-led session, where the class participants ask questions (either broad subject based, or specific question based), to be addressed by the instructor. 4. The cost to enroll in the 63-hour course is $850, which can be lowered by $100 if registration is completed early. The anticipated start date is Tuesday February 7, 2017 and the last lecture is scheduled for Tuesday April 18, 2017. The deadline for early registration is December 23, 2016. The PE exam is Friday April 21, 2017. 5. Candidates who are unsuccessful in the PE exam (the one administered immediately following the conclusion of the review sessions) are welcome to attend the next course sessions at no xt charge. 6. All lectures are taught by Dr. Indranil Goswami, who has taught the PE Review for over 15 years. In that time, there have been over 350 successes at an overall passing rate of 75% 7. Course delivery is via live online WEBINARS. The meeting time is Tuesdays and Thursdays 6 pm – 9 pm Eastern Standard Time. Lecture 1 is a Tuesday. So is Lecture 21, which is a capstone review. 8. Lectures will be recorded and archived on Google Plus. Lecture videos are uploaded to Google Plus within 2 hours of completion of the live lecture. Lectures are archived for the duration of the course. Never miss a lecture! 9. Approximately 600 pages of course notes (PDF) are shared with students upon registration. With early registration, you can start your personal review ahead of the course start (recommended). 10. Approximately 300 practice problems (PDF). These are organized into 10 sets – one AM and one PM set or each subject. These are also shared with students upon registration. CONTACT For more information, or to request an enrolment form, contact Dr. Indranil Goswami at civilpereview@gmail.com COURSE SCHEDULE (21 sessions = 63 hours) Lectures 1-10 (AM topics) FEBRUARY: 7, 9, 14, 16, 21, 23, 28 MARCH: 2, 7, 9 Lectures 11-20 (PM Topics) MARCH: 14, 16, 21, 23, 28, 30 APRIL: 4, 6, 11, 13 PRACTICE EXAM sent out following APRIL 13th lecture LECTURE 21 APRIL 18th – Capstone Review – all 5 subject areas COST The enrolment cost for the course is $850. Early registration (before December 23rd, 2016) will reduce this fee to $750. Included in this fee are course notes and practice problems as well as a full-length, self-managed practice exam (in the depth area of the candidate’s choice), which is given at the end of the course. REFERENCES The recommended references are Civil Engineering All In One PE Exam Guide, 3rd edition by Indranil Goswami (McGraw Hill, 2015) and/or Civil Engineering Reference Manual, 15th edition by Michael Lindeberg (Professional Publications, 2015). Students are urged to utilize all relevant codes and standards as well as any supplementary materials, particularly for their depth area. PASS GUARANTEE Candidates who are unsuccessful in the PE exam (the one administered immediately following the conclusion of the review sessions) are welcome to attend the next course sessions at no charge. Payment Information Payment may be made via personal check, corporate check or PAYPAL™ (enquire for details). The regular fee for the course is $850. If enrolment is completed by the early bird deadline of December 23, 2016, the fee is $750
  12. The next course taught by Dr. Indranil Goswami starts August 16th. 21 lectures, each 3 hours covers breadth and depth topics. Online webinars. Lectures are recorded and archived. Early bird ($100 off) deadline is July 1. Practice exam at end of course. Inquire at civilpereview@gmail.com
  13. Dr. Indranil Goswami’s Civil PE Review Course for the April 2016 exam will start Tuesday, February 2, 2016. All lectures are taught by Dr. Indranil Goswami, who has taught the PE Review for nearly 15 years. Course delivery is via live online WEBINARS. The meeting time is Tuesdays and Thursdays 6 pm – 9 pm Eastern Time (EST). Lectures are recorded and archived on Google Plus. Lecture videos are uploaded to Google Plus within 3 hours of completion of the live lecture. Never miss a lecture! Approximately 600 pages of course notes (PDF) are shared with students upon registration. With early registration, you can start your personal review ahead of the course start. Attendees also receive approximately 300 practice problems (PDF). These are organized into 10 sets – one AM and one PM set for each subject. Following the completion of lecture 20, attendees will be sent a full (80 question) practice exam. The first 10 lectures (out of 21) will be devoted to AM (breadth) topics, and the following 10 lectures will be devoted to the 5 depth areas. Emphasis will be on problem solving in all the sessions. Approximately 20 problems will be discussed in a typical 3-hour session. Lecture 21 will serve as a capstone review session where ‘last minute’ questions from all 5 subject areas will be discussed. The cost to enroll in the 63-hour course is $850, which can be lowered by $100 if registration is completed early. The anticipated start date is February 2, 2016. The PE exam is April 15, 2016. The deadline for early registration is December 15, 2015. Candidates who are unsuccessful in the PE exam (the one administered immediately following the conclusion of the review sessions) are welcome to attend the next course sessions at no charge. CONTACT For more information, or to request an enrolment form, contact Dr. Indranil Goswami at civilpereview@gmail.com
  14. School of PE v.s Prepineer

    Hi Everyone, I am thinking to take FE electrical review course, and I still deciding between School of PE and Prepineer. Anyone who took FE review with them, please tell me the difference ? Please, kind of want to decide ASAP. if there has better options, please let me know as well. Thank you !!!!
  15. I searched and didn't see a topic like this that was comprehensive- sorry if I missed it. I am 10 years out of undergrad and have been studying from Lindeburg's FE Civil Review Manual. I did not pass the first attempt, and I am back at it again now. I plan to take it again at the end of August. Does anyone have a crash course resource they recommend? I think I would benefit from videos as opposed to reading through more books. Thanks!
  16. The review course for the October 2015 Civil Exam will start August 18th. Two 3 hour webinars every week. 21 sessions in all = 63 hours. Write to civilpereview@gmail.com for details
  17. Our FE Online weekday review course startsTODAY! It's not to late to register. To complete your registration please visit http://www.schoolofpe.com/fecivil/registration.html. Can't attend all of the live sessions? No problem! Each class is recorded and available for viewing after the class is completed. You may review the course at anytime from any location. What's included in School of PE's Review Course? 72 hours of comprehensive review multiple instructors with industry experience ability to send questions to your iinstructors handouts and notes practice problems and solutions student discussion forum free repeat Online Weekend and Ondemand options are also available. Contact us today at 614.873.7475 or register online at www.schoolofpe.com. @schoolofpe[/twitter] https://www.facebook.com/schoolofpe
  18. The CIVIL PE Exam just went through a significant reorganization effective from the upcoming April 2015 exam. The breadth exam shifted focus away from some areas. Each depth area syllabus has also changed significantly. Some standards have been added. Others have been updated to different versions. In response to these changes, the content and organization of the PE Review Course taught by Dr. Indranil Goswami is going through a major redesign. The course is still going to be delivered via online webinars and will have a total contact time of 63 hours (21 sessions at 3 hours each) over 10 ½ weeks (2 sessions per week). However, the order of lectures will be reshuffled. The course will start February 3rd, 2015. Early bird deadline ($100 off) for those who register by December 18, 2014. The regular fee is $850. Contact civilpereview@gmail.com for detailed information. Also, the 3rd edition of the All In One Civil PE book is being worked on right now and will be submitted to the publisher by January 2015. The anticipated publication date for the 3rd edition is June/July 2015. The recent changes to the PE exam syllabus will be reflected in the additions and edits to this book. Even though the 3rd edition will not be available for those taking the exam in April, the edits/additions will be reflected in the course notes, which will be revised/reorganized significantly.
  19. Hi guys, Does anyone know taking a PE prep course would prepare me to take the EIT/FE exam? There isn't any FE prep course for chemE so I was wondering if taking a PE course would help me pass the exam... Thank you!
  20. Hi everyone, I just recently graduated with a BS in Civil Engineering. I'm kinda just chillin' at the moment but I'll be job searching in the near future. That said, I'd like to get my resume and cover letter polished before I start applying anywhere and everywhere. So established EngineerBoards community, if you have time, can you please help me look over these two essential pieces? Truthfully, I understand that while much of it especially the cover letter can be quite lengthy and wordy, I would just like to know your take on where/how to cut down everything. From the objective to the opening statements to the bullet points to pretty much anything and everything, let me know which parts are good, which parts are totally unnecessary, tacky, over-the-top, and essentially what I can and should do to make it even better. I am all ears and would greatly appreciate any constructive criticism and feedback as I take the next step towards my career. Thank you all so much for your time and help with this. Gratefully, frogger P.S. I've used some placeholders to protect my confidentiality. Cover Letter.pdf Resume.pdf
  21. Hi everyone, I just recently graduated with a BS in Civil Engineering. I'm kinda just chillin' at the moment but I'll be job searching in the near future. That said, I'd like to get my resume polished before I start applying anywhere and everywhere. So established EngineerBoards community, if you have time, can you please help me look over my resume? Truthfully, I understand that while much of it can be quite lengthy and wordy, I would just like to know your take on where/how to cut down everything. From the objective to the bullet points to pretty much anything and everything, let me know which parts are good, which parts are totally unnecessary, tacky, over-the-top, and essentially what I can and should do to make it even better. I am all ears and would greatly appreciate any constructive criticism and feedback as I take the next step towards my career. Thank you all so much for your time and help with this. Gratefully, frogger P.S. I've used some placeholders to protect my confidentiality. ResumeEB.pdf
  22. This question is for those of you who are taking the Hiner course. I am working on the latest book and trying to figure out Drag Force Diagrams. My question is regarding Problem #17, Page 2-41, the solution for question 5 shows a drag force diagram. For Wall line A, it shows the Drag force to be Fd = (262 plf)(20')=5240 lbs. On the solution to the next problem, (page 2-43) it shows a drag force diagram on Wall Line 1. Fd= (69 plf)(7')-(343 plf)(7')=-1920 lbs max. My question is, why is the wall shear not subtracted from the roof shear on the solution for 2-41? I have the same question regarding problem 9.8 in the sample problems on the back. It gives a solution of 4800 lbs but does not subtract the roof shear. What am I missing here? Thanks in advance for your response. Miguel
  23. Can anyone recommend a CA Civil Survey Review Course for someone that has never performed a survey in his/her life? I am an SE looking to take the survey exam in the near future. Any recommendations and things to avoid etc would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
  24. Hello coleagues engineers. I'm PE licensed in several states and I tried applying in GA for a PE license. I got an answer from the Board stating that I need to pass the 16 hrs SE exam in order to be granted one. My questions to all of you that have any experience with this exam are: 1) What Online Review Course would you recommend for the SE EXAM - Buildings? I only noticed Kaplan, School of PE and ASCE. If any other available, which do you think is most comprehensive for passing the exam? 2) What study materials (books, codes, etc) would I really need for the Buildings Exam? ( I don't intend to apply for Bridges so I assume I won't be needing the AASHTO 07 code). As I have most of the design codes I imagine I would need to just "fill in the gaps" where my experience is not so extensive. 3) What exam practice problem books would you recommend? I thank you in advance and look forward for your feed-back.
  25. I'm getting nervous about this upcoming exam. I don't think I've studied enough. I didn't take any antenna or communications course in college and after finishing the sample NCEES exam, I have no idea how I'm going to get some points in solving communications/antenna problems. Does anyone have any last minute prep tips? Should I just focus on the bulk of the sections (General Engineering, Digital, and Electronics?) Are the NCEES sample problems close to the actual problems in terms of the problem structure? In your opinion, does the NCEES sample exam prepare you to what's in the actual PE exam? Thanks, -Mike
×